ballot mooney

Brandon Mooney of the Georgia Secretary of State’s office displays the paper trail that will be created with the county’s new voting machines. (Photo/Richard Dumas)

Qualifying for Monroe County and School Board Elections will begin at 9 a.m. on Monday, March 2 and end at 12 noon on Friday, March 6. Anyone interested in running as a candidate in a county election should come to the Monroe County Elections Office at 38 West Main Street (County Administration Building) during business hours on these dates. 

Qualifying fees for the offices are based on pay for the offices. The offices up for election this year and the qualifying fees that a candidate must pay in order to be placed on the ballot are: Sheriff ($1,779.86), Probate Court Judge ($1,491.65), Superior Court Clerk ($1,491.65), County Commission Chairman ($234), District 1 County Commissioner ($216), District 2 Commissioner ($216), Tax Commissioner ($1,491.65), Magistrate Court Judge ($1,491.65) and Coroner ($108).

Incumbents in these offices are Sheriff Brad Freeman, Probate Court Judge Donna Robins, Superior Court Clerk Lynn Ham, County Commission Chairman Greg Tapley, District 1 Commissioner Larry Evans, District 2 Commissioner Eddie Rowland, Tax Commissioner Lori Andrews, Magistrate Court Judge Frank ‘Buck’ Wilder and Coroner Joey Proctor. Superior Court Clerk Lynn Ham has announced that she will not seek reelection.

On the Board of Education, Districts 2, 4 and 6 are up for election. The qualifying fee for Board of Education is $27. Incumbents in these districts are Priscilla Doster, Judy Pettigrew and Stuart Pippin.

The general primary will be Tuesday, May 19, and the general election will be Tuesday, Nov. 3. For more information, call Monroe County Election Supervisor Kaye Warren at 478-994-7622.