hall of fame logo

The Forsyth-Monroe County Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet remains scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 22, but a final decision will be made next month.

The 11-person Hall of Fame committee decided in a teleconference meeting on May 14 to wait until after Gov. Brian Kemp’s Public Health State of Emergency order for medically fragile or elderly Georgians is scheduled to expire on June 12 before making a final decision on whether to hold the banquet in 2020 and whether a gala that includes dinner can be held safely.

As of now, the fourth-annual event will be held at the Monroe County Conference Center at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 22. The public is invited to attend, and tickets will be on sale in the coming weeks. Tickets are $40 in advance and will be available at the Forsyth Welcome Center, Persons Bank, Monroe County Bank, the Monroe County Reporter and Haygood Lynch Harris Melton & Watson law office.

Honorees in the 2020 class include: Danny Adams, Jep Castleberry, Rose Colvin, James P. Evans Jr., Mario Harvey, Vernon Sanders, Si Simmons and Phil Walker.

Two historic teams, the GHSA AAA state champion 2004 Mary Persons boys track team and the 1955 Hubbard High School football team, will be recognized at this year’s banquet. Meanwhile, Forsyth Dairy Queen owner Ronnie Daniel will be honored with the Extra Mile Award for his work in the community to support local sports. In addition, two MP senior athletes, Taylor Buffington and Trippe Moore, will receive the Marcus Whitehead Scholar-Athlete Award for their efforts in the classroom and on the playing field. The Scholar-Athlete award, which has been given since the Hall of Fame was first established in 2017, was recently named in memory of Whitehead, an original Hall of Fame board member who died shortly after last year’s banquet.