MCMS Cross Country

MCMS Cross Country

Monroe County Middle School girls cross country team is the 2021 champion in the Central Georgia Middle School Athletic League.The ladies of the Middle School won their region meet on Oct. 7 at their home course at Monroe County Recreation Department. 

Monroe County runners finished 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 8th, 11th, 12th, 13th and 18th in the field of 38 runners for a team score of 28, which was comfortably ahead of second place Gray Station with a score of 42 points. Lamar County girls finished third, followed by Upson-Lee and Pike County. 

Lily Palmer of Gray Station finished first overall at 13:17 in the two-mile run, closely followed by Monroe County’s Kolbi McBrayer in second place at 13:25. Other top Monroe County Middle School finishers were Olivia Tanner, Ella Martin, Hannah Goodwin, Lilly Colley, Camron Miller and Hadley Wilson. 

The Monroe County Middle School boys cross country team finished third out of six teams in the CGMSAL meet behind Gray Station, whose runners took all of the first five places, and just seven points behind second place Upson-Lee Middle School. Out of 42 runners, Monroe County boys took 6th, 9th, 11th, 16th and 25th place, finishing ahead of Lamar County, Pike County and Clifton Ridge.

Monroe County’s top runner was Bradley Hendricks with 13:11 in the two-mile race. Other top Monroe County runners were Isaac McKallip, Gavin Mitchell, Ridge Lumley and Matthew Biers.

The Georgia Middle School State Championships were on Saturday, Oct. 16 in Cochran. Monroe County Middle School girls finished 8th out of 14 teams in the Medium School Division, with team members placing 7th, 30th, 45th, 73rd, 75th, 78th and 103rd among 113 runners. Kolbi McBrayer finished 7th with a time of 13:35.

Monroe County Middle School boys team finished 12th out of 18 teams in the Medium School division at the State Meet. Isaac McKallip was the first Monroe County finisher at 13:23 in the two-mile run, finishing 41st out of 133 runners. Bradley Hendricks was the second Monroe County runner to cross the finish line; he was 43rd at 13:26.